FACTBOX-Countries impose COVID restrictions on Chinese travellers

Authorities around the world are planning to impose restrictions on travelers from China as the country sees an increase in cases of COVID-19 after easing “zero-COVID” rules.

They are concerned about the wave of infections, citing a lack of information on alternatives from China. China has rejected criticism of its own COVID-19 data, saying it expects future mutations to be more contagious but less severe. Below is a list of procedures for travelers from China.


Starting January 5, the United States will require passengers arriving from China to be tested for COVID-19. All air passengers aged two years or older must have a negative test two days prior to departure from China, Hong Kong or Macau. In addition, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said that US citizens should reconsider whether to travel to China, Hong Kong and Macau. BRITAIN

Also Read :  Iconic tourist attraction on Skye to undergo crucial restoration work

Britain will require passengers traveling from China to provide a negative pre-flight COVID-19 test from January 5, the Department of Health announced on Friday. FRANCE

France will require tourists from China to test negative for COVID-19 48 hours before departure. France will start random PCR tests for COVID-19 on some travelers from China starting Jan. 1, a government official told reporters.

France also called on the 26 other EU member states to test Chinese travelers for COVID. AUSTRALIA

Travelers from China to Australia will be required to provide a negative COVID-19 test from January 5, Australian Health Minister Mark Butler announced on Sunday. India

The country has made it mandatory for tourists from China, Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea and Thailand to submit a negative test report for COVID-19. Passengers from these countries will be subject to a curfew if they develop symptoms or test positive. CANADA

Also Read :  Italy luring Bollywood for tourism promotion

Passengers flying from China to Canada must test negative for COVID-19 two days before their flight, Ottawa said. JAPAN

Japan will require travelers from mainland China to have a negative COVID-19 test upon arrival. Those who test positive will be quarantined for 7 days. China’s new border measures took effect at midnight on December 30. The government will also limit requests by airlines to increase flights to China. ITALY

Italy has ordered a COVID-19 antigen swab and viral sequencing for all travelers from China. Milan’s main airport, Malpensa, has already begun testing passengers from Beijing and Shanghai. Spain

Travelers from China to Spain will be required to have a negative COVID-19 test or full vaccination against the disease upon arrival. MALAYSIA

Malaysia will screen all incoming travelers for fever and test sewage from flights from China for COVID-19. CALM

Also Read :  ALVISE CAGNAZZO: Angel di Maria and Leandro Paredes look destined to depart Juventus this summer

According to Taiwan’s Epidemic Control Center, all passengers traveling by direct flights from China and by boat to the two offshore islands must undergo a PCR test starting January 1. South Korea

South Korea will require tourists from China to test negative for COVID-19 before departure, South Korea’s News1 reported. MOROCCO

From January 3, Morocco will ban the entry of citizens of any nationality from China. QATAR

Starting January 3, Qatar will require tourists from China to submit a negative COVID-19 test result within 48 hours of departure, state news agency QNA reported. THE SITUATION IS UNDER MONITORING

PHILIPPINES The Philippines needs to step up and implement border checks, especially for people coming from China, the Department of Health in Manila said.

(This story has not been edited by Devdiscourse staff and is automatically generated from syndicated feeds.)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.